What is the difference between denatured alcohol and rubbing alcohol?

Rubbing alcohol is a generic term and is usually manufactured with isopropyl alcohol. Denatured alcohol contain various denaturants such as bittering agents. The purpose is to discourage human consumption by including additives that are undesirable for consumption.