What is threshold breaking?

Threshold braking is a driving technique most commonly used in motor racing, but also practiced in road vehicles to slow a vehicle at the maximum rate using the brakes. The technique involves the driver controlling the brake pedal pressure to maximize the braking force developed by the tires.