What is louder lightning or thunder?

Thunder is the sound caused by a nearby flash of lightning & can be heard for a distance of only about 10 miles from the lightning strike. The sound of thunder should serve as a warning to anyone outside that they are within striking distance of the storm & need to get to a safe place immediately!