What does i. dot e. dot mean?

Also known as e.g., which is the abbreviation of exempli gratia. This is the Latin meaning of "for example".

---

i.e. is the abbreviation for the Latin phrase id est, meaning “that is.” This abbreviation is used when you want to specify something mentioned previously; it can be used interchangeably with “specifically” or “namely.”