How loud is a bear?

Black bears not only communicate with grunts, tongue-clicks, and blowing. They have a resonant voice. It is not the barking, growling voice of a dog and is seldom the shrill voice of a house cat. It is distinctly bear-like with a near human quality that is easy to mimic.