Who invented rock and roll?

Rock and roll is a genre of popular music that evolved in the United States during the late 1940s and early 1950s. It originated from music such as jazz, rhythm and blues, boogie woogie, and gospel, as well as country music. The genre did not acquire its name until 1954. There is no single inventor.