What kind of bird is a raptor?

A raptor is a carnivorous, or meat-eating bird. Raptors share three main characteristics: they have 8 sharp talons, keen eyesight and a hooked beak. Some raptors found in the United States include Eastern screech-owl, Peregrine falcon, Sharp-shinned hawk, Turkey vulture, Merlins and Kestrels.