Why are they called cocktails?

One popular theory is that during the Colonial period, spirits were stored in casks. When the spirits got near empty or near the “tailings” they would be mixed together and sold at a reduced price. The spigot on the cask was called a cock. Patrons wanting a cheaper drink ask for the “cock tailings.”