Can you eat blackbear?

According to Health Canada's Canadian Nutrient File, black bear meat compares favourably with venison (deer, elk, moose and caribou) with 128 calories, four grams of fat, 33 grams of protein and 98 milligrams of cholesterol per 100-gram serving, despite the apparent fattiness.