What is the most expensive metal in the world?

The most expensive metal is Californium, valued at $1.15 billion per Troy ounce, and is used only in nuclear power generators. The more practical Rhodium, valued at $6400 per Troy ounce, is second on the list and is commonly used in jewelry, lighting, and the automotive industry.