What's fermented cheese?

Fermented cheeses are cheese that are made with a fermentation process - meaning that the lactose in the milk is eaten, usually by a bacteria, leaving behind an acid. Most cheeses are fermented, though some, like cottage cheese and paneer, are unfermented.