Why are lightsabers different colors?

The light saber comes from the imagination of science fiction writers and the magic of movies. The lightsaber or hand laser is in many literary works. Multiple colors are a result of Hollywood. In industry the most powerful lasers do not produce colored light. Their beam cannot be seen.