What is the main muscle in your mouth?

The orbicularis oris is the major muscle that immediately surrounds the mouth itself. 4 major muscles are the ones responsible for mastication (chewing): the masseter, temporalis, medial pterygoid, and lateral pterygoid muscles move your jaw up and down, assisting in chewing, grinding, and speaking.