Why was socrates executed?

Socrates died in Athens in 399 BC after a trial for impiety and the corruption of the young that lasted for only a day. He spent his last day in prison among friends who offered him a route to escape, which he refused. He died the next morning, per his sentence, after drinking poison hemlock.