What's a substitute for rice wine vinegar?

Rice vinegar has a very distinct mild but slightly sweet taste, but in a pinch, you can substitute an equal amount of white wine vinegar, but you will need to add 1/4 teaspoon of sugar for every tablespoon of vinegar used to get close to the taste. Apple cider vinegar can be used in the same way.