Why is it called shepherd's pie?

After making a weekend roast, unused meat was repurposed into a pie using affordable potatoes as a crust. As tim went on, a distinction was made: shepherd's pie referred to a dish made with lamb (because sheep are tended to by shepherds!), and cottage pie referred to a dish made with beef