Is shadow the hedgehog good or bad?

When Shadow debuted in Sonic Adventure 2 for Dream Cast (later ported to the Game Cube as Sonic Adventure 2 battle) he was an evil character, yet every game has made him good at the end. Shadow has more of a friendly rivalry with Sonic but in this game Shadow is willing to kill to find out his past.