Which state was the first female mayor elected?

The first woman to serve as mayor in the United States is believed to be Susanna M. Salter, who served as mayor of Argonia, Kansas, in 1887. However, the first woman recorded winning a mayoral election was Nancy Smith in 1862, who declined to be sworn in as mayor of Oskaloosa, Iowa.