What is a horcrux?

A horcrux is a Magical object in the Harry Potter book series. It is an object in which a Dark Wizard or Witch had hidden a fragment of his or her soul in order to become immortal.

---

A horcrux is an object in Harry Potter which has been imbued with a piece of someone’s soul. If a piece of someone’s soul is kept in an object outside their body, even if their body is killed that piece of their soul will live on unless the object which houses it is destroyed.