Why are oranges called oranges?

Oranges were named for their color. Actually, use of the word 'orange' to describe a cross between red and yellow wasn't recorded until three hundred years after the fruit appeared in Europe. It's thought that oranges get their name from the Sanskrit word for fragrant – naranja.