Why are oranges called oranges?

Oranges were named for their color. Actually, use of the word 'orange' to describe a cross between red and yellow wasn't recorded until three hundred years after the fruit appeared in Europe. It's thought that oranges get their name from the Sanskrit word for fragrant – naranja.

---

The word "orange" comes from the Sanskrit word "naranga," which refers to the orange tree. It migrated from there to Persian, then Arabic, then Italian and French, before coming into English. Along the way, the word also came to also refer to the fruit's color.