What do fireflies look like?

They are soft-bodied beetles that range from 5 to 25 mm (up to 1 inch) in length. The flattened, dark brown or black body is often marked with orange or yellow. Most fireflies are winged. That’s different from other light-producing insects of the same family, called glowworms.