What is the novel watermelon sugar about?

Watermelon Sugar is an American postmodern post-apocalyptic novel set in the aftermath of a fallen civilization, it focuses on a commune organized around a central gathering house which is named iDEATH. It was written in 1964 by Richard Brautigan and published in 1968.