Why are detectives called gumshoos?

Gumshoes' were shoes or boots made of gum rubber. Such soft-soled shoes allowed for a quiet step. “To gumshoe” came to mean to sneak around quietly as if wearing gumshoes. It did not initially only apply to detectives; it could mean anyone being sneaky or stealthy, robbers and thief-catchers alike.