What's the history of italian wedding soup?

The name wedding comes from the Italian phrase minestra maritata which means 'married soup.' It's the marriage of ingredients including green vegetables and meat. Wedding soup began as a typical 'peasant' dish, made from inexpensive ingredients. The soup has a history in both Italy and Spain.