When did they discover the world was round?

People have known or suspected the earth was round for thousands of years. The man who calculated its circumference was Eratosthenes of Cyrene in the 3rd century B.C.E.

---

The first person to propose that the Earth was round was Pythagoras, some time around 500BC. Some time during the next few decades, Anaxagoras gave proof, in the form of the Earth's shadow on the moon during a lunar eclipse.