What does introvert or extrovert mean?

An introvert is someone who is more reserved or shy, while an extrovert is indicated by someone who is more outgoing. There is a middle-ground term, ambivert, who is someone who enjoys a quiet evening at home alone as much as going out with friends.

---

Extroversion and introversion refer to where people receive energy from. Extroverts are energized by socializing in larger groups of people, having many friends, instead of a few intimate ones while introverts are energized by spending time alone or with a smaller group of friends.