What's a close line?

Probably referring to a "clothesline". Typically located in the backyards of dwellings. Often used to air dry wet clothes. The clothes are attached to the clothesline by means of clothes pegs. An indoor electric or gas-powered clothes dryer is now often used to replace the outside clothesline.

---

In gambling the close line also referred to as the closing line represents the final resting place of odds before the betting on a sporting event closes. There are numerous other meanings such as in the military for troops to move closer.