What's the ultraviolet index?

The ultraviolet index, or UV index,is an international standard measurement of the strength of the sunburn-producing ultraviolet radiation at a particular place and time. It is primarily used in daily forecasts aimed at the general public, and is increasingly available as an hourly forecast as well.