Why is batman black?

Bats are percieved as dark brown or black and as they hunt at night this helps them track insects.Also as they live in caves,trees,etc this dark colour camoflages the m. This was taken into cosideration when the character was created by Bob Kane (artist) and Bill Finger(writer)in 1939.