Is corn starch the same thing as baking powder?

No, Corn Starch is the startch derived from corn grain and is often used as a thickening agent when added to soups, stews and gravies. Baking Powder is made from Sodium bicarbonate; also called baking soda, an acid like cream of tartar and corn starch.

---

No