Who is the tenant dan?

Lt. Dan Taylor is a character in the Forrest Gump novel and ensuing film. He was Forrest's commanding officer during the Vietnam War in 1969 and later becomes Forrest's shrimp boat partner in the Bubba-Gump Shrimp Company and best friend. He is played by Gary Sinise.