How do you give a child up for adoption?

Decide whether the adoption will be an independent, or identified, adoption where you know the adoptive parent, or whether it will be through the assistance of an adoption agency. Consult an adoption professional, such as an agency, attorney or facilitator to ask about the process you have chosen.

---

Contact your local public or licensed private adoption agency. Steps to consider include: 1) decide if adoption is right for you, 2) create your adoption plan, 3) find an adoptive family, 4) get to know the family, 5) prepare your hospital plan, and 6) continue to share contact after placement.