Why do we need wood?

All jokes aside. We need wood for many things. Breathing being the first and foremost. Without trees, yes, wood comes from trees, we would not have the abundance of oxygen we need to sustain life. Lumber, on the other hand is a dead tree cut up into useful pieces for building. Wood also makes paper.