What is the plot of three?

The three strangers by Thomas Hardy Summary. The three strangers by Thomas Hardy is a mystery to find who is the criminal at a party. The conflict, or problem, in this story is for the people at the party to discover and capture the criminal whereas the criminal's problem is to escape capture.