What was the first american tank ever built?

The first British tank prototype, Little Willie, was unveiled in September 1915. This was the first tank to be built. The Six Ton Tank M1917 was the U.S.'s first mass-produced tank. The M4 Sherman tank was put into action beginning on August 31st 1940.