How do i know when a cantaloupe is ready to eat?

A cantaloupe is ready to eat if you can feel the netted or webbed texture on the surface. A ripe cantaloupe will have a floral, fresh cantaloupe aroma. An unripe cantaloupe will have no aroma or a very weak aroma.