Why do cats like boxes so much?

Cats like to be in small spaces where they feel safe and protected. Boxes may make cats feel like they are able to hide, to see what is going on around them, and to feel safe.

---

Cats probably like boxes due to their predatory instincts. Boxes are a great place to hide and stalk their prey as they prepare to pounce. But also, there is the rule common to all cats: if I fits, I sits.