What is the pulse?

In medicine a pulse represents the tactile arterial palpation of the cardiac cycle by trained fingertips. The pulse may be palpated in any place that allows an artery to be compressed near the surface of the body such as at the neck wrist at the groin behind the knee near the ankle joint and on foot