What is a hinchman?

A loyal employee supporter to some powerful figure engaged in nefarious or criminal enterprises. Typically unimportant in the organization their value is in their unquestioning loyalty A faithful follower or political supporter prepared to engage in crime or dishonest practices by way of service.