How do you ice an injury?

You can best ice an injury by placing ice cubes in a sealable plastic bag, wrapping that in a thin cloth, like a tea towel or a tee shirt, and holding it against the injured part. Instead of ice, some people use a bag of frozen peas to conform better to the injury!