Is there eggs in egg rolls?

The egg isn't necessary to make an egg roll, even though it does have it in its name. The traditional egg roll recipe uses egg in the wrapper dough, but most recipes don't call for it anymore; modern egg rolls are usually made up of mixed meat and vegetables wrapped in a rice paper wrapper.