What was hoss cartwright's real name?

Dan Blocker was 6 feet 4 inches and 320 pounds (1.93m, 145kg) when chosen to play the gentle middle son Eric, almost always referred to as "Hoss." The nickname was used as a nod to the character's ample girth, an endearing term for "big and friendly", used by his Swedish mother (and Uncle Gunnar)