Does barbecue sauce go bad?

Just as with any food barbeque sauce goes bad even when properly stored. Look for the "best if used by" date on the package to decide whether to use it or toss it. And if you open it and it smells not quite right or has a fuzzy something growing in it, toss it, no matter what the date on the bottle.