When was the first barbie made?

On March 9, 1959, the first Barbie doll goes on display at the American Toy Fair in New York City. 11 inches tall, with a waterfall of blond hair, Barbie was the first mass-produced toy doll in the United States with adult features. The woman behind Barbie was Ruth Handler, who co-founded Mattel Inc