What's the difference between a wasp and a yellow jacket?

Although often used in the same context in language, they are slightly different. A yellow jacket is the most common type of wasp in the US. Yellow jackets are slightly smaller than most wasps but tend to be more aggressive. They also nest differently and may be found in different places.