What's the difference between a alligator and a crocodile?

Alligators live in the Americas, while crocodiles are in Africa and Asia.

---

Alligators have a wider, U-shaped snout, while crocodiles have a more pointed, V-shaped snout. Alligators prefer fresh water, while crocodile's tend to prefer saltwater or brackish water, which is a combination of saltwater and freshwater.