What's the definition of a pet?

noun. any domesticated or tamed animal that is kept as a companion and cared for affectionately. a person especially cherished or indulged; favorite: He was the teacher's pet. a thing particularly cherished.

---

a domestic or tamed animal kept for companionship or pleasure.