What is the definition of a cousin once removed?

The degree of cousinhood ("first," "second," etc.) denotes the number of generations between two cousins and their nearest common ancestor. ... The term "removed" refers to the number of generations separating the cousin.Your first cousin once removed is the child (or parent) of your first cousin.