What type of sound does a cat make?

Cats communicate with meows, chirrups, hisses, purrs, chatters, and growls, but the onomatopoeic meow is the most common.

---

Cats make a variety of sounds to communicate with humans and other cats; such as Meowing; Hissing, a defensive sound when they feel threatened; Purring, when they are happy; Growling, when they are angry or aggressive; Yowling, when they are in heat, and Chattering or chirping, a sign of excitement