How did los angeles get its name?

The city was named El Pueblo de la Reina de Los Angeles which translates to, “The Town of Our Lady the Queen of the Angels” on September 4, 1781. The name comes from the Spanish language about a river called – El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora de Los Ángeles de Porciúncula.